How we compare
How the Sherpa Score uses catalogue data, and what its results can tell you.
What the Sherpa Score blends
The Sherpa Score is a catalogue ordering signal, shown on a single 0–10 scale on every card, in search and in the chat. It blends three things in fixed, published weights — and nothing else:
- Representative APR — 50%. Where present, representative APR is mapped to a 0–1 cost score: 5% or below reaches the ceiling, 35% or above reaches the floor, and values between are linear. Other fees and total-repayable figures are not separate score inputs.
- Eligibility & transparency — 30%. A named regulator and an available soft-search prequalification signal. The regulator signal is always evaluated; the prequalification sub-signal is used only where the feed contains it.
- Track record & trust — 20%. The catalogue’s Trustpilot score, divided by five, where one is available. Review volume and individual review text are not score inputs.
Each available factor is normalised to a 0–1 sub-score, combined and shown out of 10. Where representative APR or Trustpilot data is missing, the implementation drops that component and re-weights the remaining components. Inside the transparency component, a missing prequalification field is also omitted from its average.
That missing-data rule means the score is not a complete price comparison: a record can have a high score without a published APR. The card will say “Not stated”, but the ranking does not automatically move that record below cost-complete lenders. Treat those entries as incomplete and confirm APR, fees, total repayable, jurisdiction and eligibility directly before applying.
What appears on a catalogue card
- Regulator. A named regulator (e.g. FCA, FDIC, BaFin, a state-licensed lender / NMLS). This is a transparency signal, not proof of permission for every product: verify the firm and activity on the relevant official register.
- Representative APR field. The supplied upstream value is shown where present. It is undated and is not a quote or proof of current availability.
- Cost fields. Supplied loan-amount, term and funding-speed fields. They do not form a complete cost comparison and are not independently verified per record.
- Eligibility fields. Supplied minimum-age and prequalification flags. They do not predict acceptance, the offered rate or how a particular check affects a credit file.
- Missing-data label. Where the upstream catalogue does not contain a field, the card says “Not stated”. That means incomplete data, not zero cost or no restriction.
Where card fields come from — and their limits
Figures on lender cards come from our upstream catalogue, which aggregates lender-published and structured third-party data. The snapshot does not consistently carry a field-level source, access date or independent verification date. Where a field is absent, the card says “Not stated” rather than guess. Treat every value as an undated upstream field and confirm the current rate, fees, permissions, jurisdiction, availability and eligibility before applying.
Because this is a Your-Money-Your-Life topic, we show available cost fields rather than burying them. The score uses representative APR where present; it does not separately score fees or total repayable. See our consumer-credit disclosures for the full picture, including what a representative example looks like.
How we use AI
The Sherpa is an AI-assisted guide, openly. It is designed to use our catalogue and research, but it can misunderstand a question or produce an inaccurate answer. Do not rely on chat output as a provider quote or personalised regulated financial advice; verify rates, fees, terms and permissions at the source. The FinanceSherpa editorial desk maintains the guidance and methodology. We do not claim review by a named regulated adviser.
Rules and checks behind this method
- FCA: reviewing whether APRs support consumers’ choices — representative APR and total-repayment context (accessed 21 August 2026).
- FCA: how to check a firm or individual is authorised — permissions and official register checks (accessed 21 August 2026).
- MoneyHelper: how to apply to borrow — affordability, eligibility checking and representative-rate cautions (accessed 21 August 2026).
Spotted a mistake? Tell us
If a rate, fee, regulator detail or term is out of date or wrong, email [email protected]. We assess the report and correct confirmed errors. This methodology date changes when the method or explanatory copy changes; it is not a freshness date for every lender field.